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NOTICE OF PROTECTION PROVIDED BY
MISSISSIPPI LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION

This notice provides a brief summary of the Mississippi Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association
(the “Association”) and the protection it provides for policyholders. This safety net was created by
Mississippi law, which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage.

The Association was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your life, annuity or health
insurer becomes financially unable to meet its obligations. If this should happen, the Association will
typically arrange to continue coverage and pay claims, in accordance with Mississippi law, with funding
from assessments paid by other insurance companies.

The maximum amount of protection with respect to any one (1) life, regardiess of the number of policies
or contracts, is:

Life Insurance

° $300,000 in death benefits
J $100,000 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values
Health Insurance
. $500,000 in basic hospital, medical and surgical or major medical benefits
] $300,000 in disability benefits
. $300,000 in long-term care insurance benefits
° $100,000 in other types of health insurance benefits
Annuities
o $250,000 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values

The Association may not cover this policy. If coverage is provided, it will be subject to substantial
limitations and exclusions, and require continued residency in Mississippi. You should not rely on
coverage by the Association when selecting an insurer.

To learn more about the above protections, limitations and exclusions, as well as protections relating to
group contracts or retirement plans, please visit the Association’s website at www.mslifega.org, or

contact:

Mississippi Life and Health Insurance Mississippi Insurance Department
Guaranty Association Woolfolk Building

330 North Mart Plaza 501 N. West Street, Suite 1001
Jackson, MS 39206-5327 Jackson, MS 39201
601-981-0755 601-359-3569

To file a complaint or seek information about the financial condition of an insurer, contact the Mississippi
Insurance Department.

Your insurer is required by law to provide you with this notice. However, insurance companies and their
agents are prohibited by law from using the existence of the Association for the purpose of sales,
solicitation or inducement to purchase any form of insurance.
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SUMMARY OF GROUP INSURANCE

This summary is intended to help understand the group insurance policy. It does not change any of its
provisions.

Life Insurance for Covered Persons

When we receive written proof that a covered person has died, we will pay the amount of that person's /ife
insurance to the beneficiary. We will pay it in a single sum unless an optional payment method is chosen.

The policy also provides a benefit for persons who become disabled. Insurance is continued for qualified
persons for a specified time without payment of premium.

The policy includes a conversion privilege. If any amount of a person's life insurance ends, it may be
possible to convert all or a part of it to a conversion policy with no health exam.

The policy also includes a portability provision. If a person's life insurance and dependent life insurance,
if any, ends under certain circumstances, it may be possibie to port for a specified time.

If we receive proof that a covered person has a qualifying medical condition and meets certain criteria, we
may pay a part of that person's life insurance as an accelerated benefit. The amount of life insurance will
be reduced by the amount of accelerated benefit paid and by any interest charge, if applicable.

Life Insurance for Dependents (if elected by the covered person)

When we receive written proof that a covered dependent has died, we will pay the amount of the
dependent's /ife insurance to the covered person in one sum.

If a covered person’s life insurance is continued under the Disability Benefit, the dependent life insurance
will also continue.

The policy also includes a conversion privilege. If any amount of a dependent's life insurance ends, it
may be possible to convert all or part of it to a conversion policy with no health exam.

The policy also includes a portability provision. If a covered person dies, covered dependents may port
their dependent life insurance for a specified time.

If we receive proof that a covered dependent spouse has a qualifying medical condition and meets certain
criteria, we may pay a part of that person's dependent life insurance as an accelerated benefit. The
amount of /ife insurance will be reduced by the amount of accelerated benefit paid and by any interest
charge, if applicable.

In the following pages, the provisions that describe a particular coverage were designed to be used in
both the policy and the certificate. Therefore the terms “you” and “your” are used to refer to the covered

person.

Please read
the insurance
policy carefully
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GROUP POLICY SCHEDULE

Eligible Class: For employee insurance — Each full-time employee of the policyhaolder or an assaciated

company,
° who is at active work, and
o who is working in the United States of America,

except any temporary or seasonal worker.

For dependent insurance - Each person eligible and insured for employee insurance.

Associated Companies: None

Present Service Requirement: 60 days

Future Service Requirement: 60 days

Entry Date: An eligible person will become insured on the first of the month occurring on or after

the day ali eligibility requirements are met.
Minimum Participation Requirements:

Number: 10 Percentage: 20%

SCHEDULE

Amount of Life Insurance

1. A covered person who has not reached age 70 may choose an amount of insurance equal to any
mulitiple of $10,000. The minimum amount of insurance is $20,000.*

2. For each covered person who has reached age 70, but not age 75, the amount of insurance will
be 67% of the amount chosen in 1 above.*

3. For each covered person who has reached age 75 or more, the amount of insurance will be 67%
of the amount shown in 2 above.*

A covered person may choose to change the amount of insurance with our approval, from November 1
through November 30 of each year, the annual enroliment period agreed upon by the policyholder and
us.* A covered person must submit proof of good health for any such increase in excess of either the
Maximum Amount Without Proof of Good Health, or in excess of $10,000 annually. Once proof of good
health has been submitted and approved, the covered person may elect to increase the amount, during
any future annual enrollment period, by $10,000 annually, without submitting additional proof of good

health.

* The maximum amount of insurance is the lesser of $500,000 or 500% of the covered person’s annual
pay. The amount will be rounded to the next higher multiple of $10,000, if not already an exact multiple.
Any reduction will be subject to the other provisions of the policy and will aiso apply if the covered
person’s insurance is continued during disability.
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SCHEDULE (continued)

Annual pay means your basic yearly pay from the policyholder or an associated company, and is
computed on a yearly basis. Bonuses, overtime, and other compensation not considered by us
as basic wages or salary are not included. However, commissions received during the prior full
calendar year will be included. If you have been eligible to receive commissions for less than a
full calendar year, annual pay will include commissions received during the time you were eligible
to receive them.

If you are an hourly employee, annual pay will be based on your hourly rate of pay, but not on
more than 40 hours per week.

However, the amount of /ife insurance may be limited by the Proof of Good Health provision.
Maximum Amount Without Proof of Good Health:

$180,000; however, if you were insured under the policyholder's prior plan of group life insurance on the
day before the original effective date of the policy for an amount in excess of $180,000, your maximum
amount without proof of good health will be the amount in effect on the day before the original effective
date of the policy.

Any election in excess of the amounts described above will require proof of good health.

Any reduction based on age will apply to the amount of insurance in force, taking into account the Proof
of Good Health provision.

Amount of Accelerated Benefit

With the written consent of the beneficiary(ies), a covered person may choose an amount of accelerated
benefit up to 80% of the amount of life insurance. Without the written consent of the beneficiary(ies), a
covered person may choose an amount of accelerated benefit up to 50% of the amount of life insurance.
The amount will be rounded to the next higher multiple of $1,000, if not already an exact multiple, and
may never be less than $5,000 or more than $250,000.

Change Date: For any decrease, the Change Date will be the date of the change. For any increase in
salary, or change in age or other status, the Change Date will be the policy anniversary occurring on or
after the date of the change. For any other increase, the Change Date will be the policy anniversary
occurring on or after the date of the change or, if later, the first of the month occurring on or after the date
of our correspondence notifying you of our approval of your proof of good health, if required.

Amounts of Dependent Life Insurance:

1. A covered person may choose an amount of dependent /ife insurance for the covered dependent
spouse equal to any multiple of $5,000 subject to a maximum of $250,000.

2. A covered person may choose an amount of dependent life insurance for each covered
dependent child according to age as follows:

Age Amount

Live birth but less than age 19 A covered person may choose
or less than age 25 if a full-time $1,000, $5,000, or $10,000
student

A covered person may choose to change a covered dependent's amount of insurance during the annual
enrollment period, with our approval. Proof of good health must be submitted for any increase.

Schd 8




SCHEDULE (continued)

The amount of insurance for a dependent will not be more than 1/2 the covered person’s amount of
insurance.

However, the amount of dependent /ife insurance may be limited by the Proof of Good Health provision,
Dependent Maximum Amount Without Proof of Good Health:

Spouse—$50,000; Child—$10,000; however, if a spouse was insured under the policyholder’s prior plan of
group life insurance on the day before the original effective date of the policy for an amount in excess of
$50,000, your spouse maximum amount without proof of good health will be the amount in effect on the
day before the original effective date of the policy.

Any election in excess of the amounts described above will require proof of good health.

Amount of Dependent Accelerated Benefit (spouse only)

With the written consent of the spouse, a covered person may choose an amount of dependent
accelerated benefit up to 80% of the spouse's dependent life insurance, rounded to the next higher
multiple of $1,000, if not already an exact mulitiple. The amount may never be less than $5,000 or more
than $200,000.

Dependent Change Date: For any decrease, the Dependent Change Date will be the date of the
change. For any change in age or other status, the Dependent Change Date will be the policy
anniversary occurring on or after the date of the change. For any increase, the Dependent Change Date
will be the policy anniversary occurring on or after the date of the change or, if later, the first of the month
occurring on or after the date of our correspondence notifying you of our approval of the eligible
dependent's proof of good health, if required.

Plan Changes

You may change your plan of insurance only during the annual enroliment period agreed upon by the
policyholder and us, unless you have a change in family status. The effective date of the change will be
the first of the month occurring on or after the later of the date of the request or the date of our
correspondence notifying you of our approval of your or your eligible dependent’s proof of good health, if
required.

You may also change your plan of insurance within 31 days after a change in family status. The effective
date of the change will be the first of the month occurring on or after the later of the date of the request or
the date of our correspondence notifying you of our approval of your or your eligible dependent’s proof of
good health, if required.

A "change in family status” means your marriage or divorce, the death of your spouse or child, the birth or
adoption of your child, the termination of your spouse’s employment, or any other event specified in the
policyholder’s IRC Section 125 plan, if any.

Any time you enroll or elect a higher amount of insurance, you must give proof of good health for yourself
or for each eligible dependent, if dependent life insurance is elected. However, if dependent /ife insurance
is being applied for within 31 days after your dependent first becomes an eligible dependent, proof of
good health will only be required for any amount in excess of the Dependent Maximum Amount Without
Proof of Good Health.

Survivor Financial Counseling Service

You or your beneficiary may be eligible for a survivor financial counseling service through a third-party
vendor if, at the time of the claim, we have a contract in effect with a financial counseling provider, and if:
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SCHEDULE (continued)

your beneficiary is eligible for a life insurance benefit of at least $50,000; or
you are eligible for a dependent life insurance benefit of at least $50,000; or

you apply and qualify for an accelerated benefit of at least $50,000.
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NON-INSURANCE BENEFITS AND SERVICES

You are eligible for benefits and services provided by third-party vendors as described below. A third-
party vendor is an entity with whom we contract to provide non-insurance benefits and services.

Will Preparation Services

As a covered person, you are entitled to will preparation services as an included benefit. The included
benefit is provided through a third-party vendor and is not an insured benefit provided by us. The included
benefit is available to you and your dependent(s) as defined by the third-party vendor. You must remain
insured under this policy in order to qualify for the included benefit.

The included benefit may not be available if prohibited by law. The third-party vendor providing the
service is solely responsible for providing and administering the included benefit. We are not liable for the
third-party vendor’s failure to provide or its negligence in providing the included benefit. The included
benefit is only available while we have a contract in effect with a third-party vendor to provide the included
benefit.

NON-INSURANCE 11




ELIGIBILITY AND TERMINATION PROVISIONS
Eligible Persons
To be eligibie for insurance, a person must:
o be a member of an eligible class;

o complete any Service Requirement shown in the Schedule by continuous service with the
employer, the policyholder, or an associated company;, and

. give us proof of good health, if required.

The Present Service Requirement applies to persons in an eligible class on the Effective Date of the
policy. The Future Service Requirement applies to persons who become members of an eligible class
after that.

Effective Date for an Eligible Person

A person must apply for insurance on a form acceptable to us, and agree to pay part or ail of the
premium.

. If a person applies before becoming eligible, insurance will take effect on the Entry Date
shown in the Schedule in the policy.

o If the application is made on the date the person becomes eligible, or within 31 days after
that, insurance will take effect on the Entry Date occurring on or after the date of the
application.

. If application is made more than 31 days after the day the person becomes eligible but

during the first annual enrollment period occurring after the person becomes eligible, and
the person was not eligible on the effective date of the policy, insurance will take effect on
the policy anniversary occurring on or after the date of the application.

° Except as provided above, if application is made more than 31 days after the day the
person becomes eligible or after insurance ended because the premium was not paid,
the application must be made during an annual enrollment period and proof of good
health is required.

If the proof is acceptable to us, insurance will take effect on the policy anniversary, or if
later, the Entry Date occurring on or after the date of our correspondence notifying you of
our approval of your proof of good health.

in no event will a person's insurance take effect before the policyholder's effective date.

Exception to Effective Date

If an eligible person is not at active work on the day insurance would otherwise take effect, insurance will
not take effect until the person returns to active work. If the day insurance would normally take effect is
not a regular work day for a person, insurance will take effect on that day if the person is able to do his or
her regular job.

When a Person'’s Insurance Ends

A covered person's insurance will end on the date:

PEfEn as modified by P-ALL-143 12




ELIGIBILITY AND TERMINATION PROVISIONS (continued)

° the policy ends;

° the policy is changed to end the insurance for a person's eligible class;
o a person is no longer in an eligible class;

. a person stops active work; or

° a required contribution was not paid.

Continuance of Insurance

If a person is unable to perform active work for a reason shown below, the policyholder may continue the
person's insurance and the person’s dependent insurance, if any, on a premium-paying basis provided
the person remains in other respects a member of the eligible class. The continuance cannot be more
than the maximum continuance shown below. Continuance must be based on a uniform policy, and not
individual selection.

The maximum continuance is the longest applicable period described below:
. 12 months* for injury, sickness, or pregnancy;

o 3 months* for lay-off, leave of absence (other than a family or medical leave of absence
described below), or change to part-time; or

° the end of the period the policyholder is required to aliow* for a family or medical leave of
absence under:

o the federal Family and Medical Leave Act; or
) any similar state law.
* after the last day of active work.

Reinstatement

If a person re-enters an Eligible Class within 12 months after insurance ends, the person will not have to
complete the Service Requirement again. All other provisions of the policy will apply.

PEfEn as modified by P-ALL-143 13




ELIGIBILITY AND TERMINATION PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS
Eligible Dependents

Your eligible dependents are:
° your lawful spouse, and

. your unmarried children from live birth but less than age 19, or tess than age 25 if a full-
time student.

“Children” include any biological or adopted children, stepchildren and foster children, each of whom must
depend on you for support and maintenance. A child will be considered adopted on the date of
placement in your home. “Children” also include any children for whom you are the legal guardian, who
reside with you on a permanent basis and depend on you for support and maintenance.

An eligible dependent will not include any person who is a member of an eligible class. An eligible
dependent may not be covered by more than 1 covered person.

Dependent Effective Date

You must apply for dependent insurance on a form acceptable to us. You must also agree to pay your
share of the premium.

° If you apply before the dependent becomes eligible, dependent insurance will take effect
on the Entry Date shown in the Schedule in the policy.

U If you apply on the date the dependent becomes eligible, or within 31 days after that,
dependent insurance will take effect on the Entry Date occurring on or after the date of
your application.

o If you apply for insurance for yourself maore than 31 days after you become eligible but
during the first annual enroliment period occurring after you become eligible, and you
were not eligible on the effective date of the policy, you may also apply at the same time
for dependent insurance. Dependent insurance will take effect on the policy anniversary
occurring on or after the date of your application.

o Except as provided above, if you apply more than 31 days after the dependent becomes
eligible, application must be made during an annual enrollment period and you must give
proof of good health for each eligible dependent. Proof of good health is also required if
you apply after dependent insurance ended because the premium was not paid.

If the proof is acceptable, dependent insurance will take effect on the policy anniversary,
or, if later, the Entry Date occurring on or after the date of our correspondence notifying
you of our approval of the eligible dependent’s proof of good health.

You cannot apply for dependent insurance if your coverage is being continued under the Disability Benefit
provision of the policy.

Exception to Dependent Effective Date

Dependent insurance will not take effect until your insurance for the same coverage under the policy
takes effect.

If an eligible dependent is in a hospital or similar facility on the day insurance would otherwise take effect,
it will not take effect until the day after the eligible dependent leaves the hospital or similar facility. This
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ELIGIBILITY AND TERMINATION PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS (continued)

exception does not apply to a child born while dependent insurance is in effect. If an eligible dependent
spouse is disabled on the day insurance would otherwise take effect, it will not take effect until the spouse
is no longer disabled.

When Dependent Insurance Ends

A dependent's insurance will end on the date:

° the policy ends;

° the policy is changed to end dependent insurance;

o that dependent is no longer eligible;

° your insurance for the same coverage under the policy ends; or
° a required contribution for dependent insurance was not paid.

EfEnDp as modified by PC-ALL-144,184 15




SPECIAL DEPENDENT INSURANCE CONTINUANCE PROVISIONS

As specified below, dependent insurance may continue, subject to the provisions that describe when
insurance ends, and all other terms and conditions of the policy. Premiums are required for any coverage
continued.

Physically Handicapped or Mentally Retarded Dependent Children

Dependent insurance for an eligible dependent child will continue beyond the date a child attains an age
limit, if, on that date, he or she:

° is unable to earn a living because of physical handicap or mental retardation; and

° is chiefly dependent upon you for support and maintenance.
We must receive proof of the above within 120 days after the child attains the age limit and each year
after that, beginning 2 years after the child attains the age limit. There will be no increase in premium for

this continued coverage.

Dependent insurance will end when the child is able to earn a living or is no longer dependent on you for
support and maintenance.
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CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE

Definitions

Prior plan means the policyholder’s plan of group life insurance, if any, (including any dependent life
insurance) under which you and your eligible dependents, if any, were insured on the day before the
Effective Date of the policy.

Prior plan benefits mean the benefits, if any, that would have been paid to you or your beneficiary under
the prior plan had it remained in effect, and had you or your dependent continued to be insured under the

prior plan.
Continuity of Coverage for You
We will provide continuity of coverage if you were covered under the prior plan.

If you are not at active work on the Effective Date of the policy due to a disability, you are not eligible to
become insured under the policy. However, we will cover you for the prior plan benefits until the earlier

of:
e the date you return to active work; or
J the end of any period of continuance or extension of the prior plan.

If you are not at active work on the Effective Date of the policy due to a reason other than a disability, and
would otherwise be eligible to become insured under the policy, we will cover you for the prior plan
benefits until the earliest of:

° the date you return to active work:
° the end of any period of continuance of the prior pian; or
. the date coverage would otherwise end, according to the provisions of the policy.

Any benefits payable under the conditions described above will be paid by us:
. as if the prior plan had remained in effect; and
o will be reduced by any benefits paid or payable by the prior plan.
If you are at active work on the Effective Date of the policy, you will be insured under the policy.

Prior Plan Credit for Life Insurance

We will give you credit for time periods which were met under the prior plan for the same provision(s).
This credit will apply to the time-insured requirement, if any, shown in the following section(s) of the Life
Insurance for You provision in the policy:

o Insurance Provided. However, for any contributory insurance, this credit will not apply to
any increase in your amount of insurance under the policy.

. Accelerated Benefit, but only if you had a similar Accelerated Benefit under the prior plan.

° Conversion to an Individual Policy.
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CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE (continued)

If we accept a copy of the enrollment card you submitted under the prior plan, this credit will also apply to
the Incontestability section shown in Additional Provisions for Life Insurance.

Continuity of Coverage for Your Dependents

We will provide continuity of coverage for your eligible dependents, if any, who were covered under the
prior plan.

If an eligible dependent is in a hospital or similar facility on the Effective Date of the policy, or if an eligible
dependent spouse is disabled on the Effective Date of the policy, we will cover the dependent for the prior
plan benefits until the earliest of;

. the day after the eligible dependent leaves the hospital or similar facility;

J the date the eligible dependent spouse is no longer disabled,

. the end of any period of continuance or extension of the prior plan; or

° the date coverage would otherwise end, according to the provisions of the palicy.

Any benefits payable will be paid by us:
. as if the prior plan had remained in effect; and
e will be reduced by any benefits paid or payable by the prior plan.

If an eligible dependent is not in a hospital or similar facility on the Effective Date of the policy, or if an
eligible dependent spouse is not disabled on the Effective Date of the policy, the dependent will be

insured under the policy.

Prior Plan Credit for Life Insurance for Your Dependents
We will give your dependents credit for time periods which were met under the prior plan of group

dependent /ife insurance for the same provision(s). This credit will apply to the time-insured requirement,
if any, shown in the following section(s) of the Life Insurance for Your Dependents provision of the policy:

o Insurance Provided. However, for any contributory insurance, this credit will not apply to
any increase in the amount of dependent insurance provided under the policy.

° Accelerated Benefit, but only if your dependent had a similar Accelerated Benefit under
the prior plan.

o Conversion to an Individual Policy.

. Incontestability. However, this will apply only if we accept a copy of the enrollment card
you submitted under the prior plan.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOU

Insurance Provided

We will pay your beneficiary the amount of insurance shown in the Schedule when we receive all the
required proof of covered loss, including written proof of your death, acceptable to us, and a completed
claim form. Your amount of insurance may be reduced by the amount of any conversion policy and any
group portability policy issued by us.

For any contributory insurance, if you take your own life within 1 year after you become insured under the
policy, the amount of insurance we pay will be the sum of your contributions for this insurance.

For any contributory insurance, if you take your own life within 1 year after you elect an increase in your
amount of insurance under the policy, the amount of the increase will be limited to the sum of your
contributions for the increase.

Changes in Amounts of Insurance

If your amount of insurance changes for any reason, the change will take place on the Change Date
shown in the Schedule. But in the case of an increase, if you are not at active work on that day, no
increase will take effect until you return to active work.

Proof of Good Health

If you are eligible for more than the Maximum Amount Without Proof of Good Health shown in the
Schedule, you will be limited to that Maximum until you give us proof of good healith. If the proof is
accepted, the additional amount of insurance will take effect (i) for initial amounts on the first of the month
occurring on or after the date of our correspondence notifying you of our approval of your proof of good
health, and (i) for future amounts on the Change Date shown in the Schedule. Once insured for more
than that Maximum, future increases will also require proof of good health.

If both noncontributory and contributory insurance are provided under the policy, your contributory
amount will be affected by this provision before your noncontributory amount.

DISABILITY BENEFIT

If you stop active work before age 65 because you become disabled while insured under the
policy and remain disabled for the qualifying period, your life insurance will continue for the period
outlined in the Maximum Benefit Period provision. Once the qualifying period is satisfied, no
further premium is due for you while you remain disabled for the amount of /ife insurance that is

being continued.

Amount

The amount of insurance continued will be the amount for which you were insured on the day
before you became disabled. However, it is subject to any reduction in amount contained in the
policy, on that day, and may be reduced by the amount of any conversion policy.

Proof of Disability

You must give us proof of your disability as stated in the Claim Provisions. You must submit all
proof to our home office at no expense to us. If you die while disabled, we require proof that you
were continuously disabled until death.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOU (continued)

Maximum Benefit Period

If you become disabled before your 60th birthday, your insurance will continue as long as you are
disabled, but not past the earlier of age 65, or the date you refire. If you become disabled on or
after your 60th birthday, but before age 65, your insurance may continue for up to 1 year, but not
past the earlier of age 65, or the date you retire.

If you are no longer disabled, your insurance will end unless you re-enter an eligible class and
premium payments begin again. If you become disabled again during the same period of
disability, you do not have to satisfy the qualifying period again. The maximum benefit period will
not start over but will continue on the day you become disabled again.

If your amount of insurance reduces or ends while you are disabled, you can apply for an
individual policy. See the Conversion to an Individual Policy provision.

Extension of Benefits

Your insurance will continue even if the policy ends, if you meet the proof requirements as stated
in the Claim Provisions.

Exclusions

Your insurance will not continue under the Disability Benefit if your disability results directly or
indirectly from:

. intentionally self-inflicted injury, while sane or insane;
. war or any act of war, whether declared or not;
. service in the armed forces of any country, combination of countries or

international organization at war, whether declared or not; or
. taking part in a riot or insurrection, or an act of riot or insurrection.

Your insurance will not continue if your disability starts:

. after you are no longer in an eligible class;
. after the policy ends; or
. during the time allowed for conversion to an individual policy.

If you have converted to an individual policy after part or all of your group /ife insurance ended, no
group insurance for the amount that ended will be paid unless the individual policy is returned
without claim. Then we will refund all premiums paid for the individual policy, less any payments
we made.

Conversion to an Individual Policy

If any or all of your group life insurance ends, you can apply for any individual policy offered by us
(conversion policy). You must apply and pay the premium within 31 days. The individual policy may be
any we offer for conversion. No proof of good health is required.

You may convert up to the full amount that ended.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOU (continued)

If you die within 31 days after your Jife insurance ends, we will pay to your beneficiary the amount you
could have converted, whether or not you applied or paid the premium.

You cannot apply for a conversion policy if your group life insurance or insurance under a group
portability policy ends because you did not pay your share of the premium.

Porting to a Group Portability Policy

If all of your group /ife insurance ends because you are no longer a member of an eligible class, you may
be eligible to port your total amount of any /ife insurance and dependent Jife insurance coverage currently
in force, subject to a maximum far life insurance of $500,000. You must port your life insurance in order
to port any dependent life insurance. The group portability policy will not include any Disability Benefit.

You are not eligible to port if:

° your amount of /ife insurance is less than $10,000;

. you convert your life insurance under Conversion to an Individual Policy;,

° you are disabled,

J you qualify and are approved for the Disability Benefit or your Disability Benefit ends;
. the policy ends;

J you are age 65 or older; or

° your life insurance ends because you did not pay your share of the premium.

If you die within 31 days after your Jife insurance ends, but before you have applied to port, we will pay to
your beneficiary the amount you could have converted under the Conversion to an Individual Policy,
whether or not you applied or paid the premium.

You must apply and pay the premium within 31 days after you are no longer a member of an eligible
class. No proof of good health is required.

The insurance can be continued under the group portability policy until the day before your 65" birthday.
The amount(s) cannot be increased. You can decrease your amount(s) of insurance to any multiple of
$1,000. Your minimum amount of /ife insurance must be at least $10,000. Any amount of dependent /ife
insurance may not exceed your amount of /ife insurance. If you decrease your amount of /ife insurance,
the amount of any dependent /ife insurance must be decreased proportionately, rounded to the next
higher multiple of $1,000, if not already an exact multiple.

We will notify you of the amount of premium due, the frequency of premium payments and the premium
due dates. If any premium is not paid when due, you will have a 31-day grace period. Insurance will end
at the end of the grace period if you fail to make the required premium payment within that time. We will
not change the premium rate more than once in any period of 6 consecutive months and we will give you
31 days advance written notice of any change in rates.

The Conversion to an Individual Policy provision will apply if your insurance ends under the group
portability policy.

ACCELERATED BENEFIT
If, while you are a covered person, you have a qualifying medical condition, you have the right to receive

a portion of your /ffe insurance during your lifetime, payable as an accelerated benefit. You must have at
least $10,000 of fife insurance in force to be eligible to receive an accelerated benefit.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOU (continued)

RECEIPT OF AN ACCELERATED BENEFIT MAY AFFECT ELIGIBILITY FOR A STATE OR FEDERAL
PROGRAM, SUCH AS MEDICAID, AND BENEFITS MAY BE TAXABLE. A TAX ADVISOR SHOULD BE

CONSULTED.

We are not responsible for any effect on your state or federal taxes, or loss of eligibility for any state or
federal program.

Unless otherwise indicated, all provisions of the policy shall apply to the accelerated benefit.

Amount of Accelerated Benefit

You may receive an accelerated benefit of your life insurance, as shown in the Schedule.

If the amount of your life insurance is scheduled to reduce due to age within 12 months following the date
you apply for the accelerated benefit, your accelerated benefit will be based on the reduced amount.

An accelerated benefit may be paid only once during your lifetime. You may choose to receive an
accelerated benefit in a single sum, or in one of the optional payment methods currently available at the
time of your election. If you are not living when benefits are payable, they will be paid to your beneficiary.

Once an accelerated benefit is paid to you, we will notify you of the remaining /ife insurance in force.

Proof Required for the Accelerated Benefit

You must submit a claim form and any other information we find necessary to decide our liability.

We may ask you to be examined in connection with your claim for an accelerated benefit. \We will pay for
any exam we require.

Effect of Accelerated Benefit

After an accelerated benefit is paid, premium is due only for the remaining /ife insurance, uniess the
premium is waived under the Disability Benefit provision. The /ife insurance payable at your death to your
beneficiary equals:

° the amount of your life insurance as if an accelerated benefit payment has not been
made, minus

e the accelerated benefit payment, minus

. the interest charge.

The interest charge equals the accelerated benefit amount times the number of days from the accelerated
benefit payment to your date of death, times an annual interest rate divided by 365. The rate of interest is

determined quarterly by us.

Your amount of dependent /ife insurance or accidental death and dismemberment insurance, if any, is not
affected by the payment of the accelerated benefit. The amount of any conversion policy or group
portability policy will be based on your reduced amount of fife insurance after the payment of the

accelerated benefit.

Exclusions

An accelerated benefit will not be paid if:
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOU (continued)

you have assigned all or part of your life insurance, unless the assignee consents, in
writing.

you have named an irrevocable beneficiary for all or part of your life insurance, unless the
beneficiary consents, in writing.

all or a part of your /ife insurance is payable to a former spouse as part of a divorce
decree or property settlement.

you have previously received an accelerated benefit of your life insurance.

your life insurance is less than $10,000.
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ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS FOR LIFE INSURANCE

Optional Payment Methods

You or your beneficiary may choose to have all or part of your insurance paid in installments. You can
request this at any time. Your beneficiary may request this within 31 days after your death.

This option is not available if the beneficiary is an estate, corporation, partnership, association, or trustee.

Beneficiary

You may change the beneficiary at any time. Any request to name or change the beneficiary must be in
writing on a form acceptable to us and signed by you. After we receive the request at our home office,
the change will take effect on the date you signed it. A beneficiary change will be without prejudice to us
for any payment we made before we received notice in our home office.

You may also send a request to change the beneficiary to the main office of the policyholder. The
change must be made in a manner acceptable to us.

Any application to convert all your group /ife insurance which names a beneficiary different from the last
beneficiary you named under the policy will be considered a change of beneficiary to the person named in
the application. The change will take effect on the date of the application.

If you named more than 1 beneficiary, your amount of insurance will be divided among them equally,
unless you specified atherwise.

If a beneficiary dies before you do, the rights and interest of that beneficiary will end.

If no beneficiary is living or existing when you die, or if none was named, or if the beneficiary is
disqualified by operation of law, your insurance will be paid to the first qualified surviving class of the
following classes in this order:

) your lawful spouse;

° your living children, in equal shares;

o your living parents, in equal shares; or
° your estate.

Assignment

If you assign your interest under the policy to another person, all your rights under the policy are
permanently transferred. This includes the right to name and change the beneficiary and the right to
convert to an individual policy or group portability policy. You may assign your insurance to only 1 of the
following:

o your lawful spouse;
° your child, parent, brother, or sister; or
° the trustee of a trust you set up for the benefit of your lawful spouse, children, parents,

brothers, or sisters.

We are not responsible for the validity of any assignment. An assignment will not affect us until we
receive written notice at our home office.
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ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS FOR LIFE INSURANCE (continued)

Incontestability

The validity of the policy cannot be contested after it has been in force for 2 years. The validity of your
coverage under the policy cannot be contested after you have been insured under the policy for 2 years
during your lifetime. However, if the premiums are not paid, the validity of the policy or your coverage can
be contested at any time.

No statement you made regarding proof of good health can be used in a legal dispute unless it was in
writing, it was signed by you, and a copy was given to you or your beneficiary.

Spendthrift

As permitted by law, the benefits under the policy are not subject to commutation, encumbrance or
alienation. They are not subject to the claim of, or legal process by, any creditor of you or your
beneficiary.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS

Insurance Provided

If a covered dependent dies, we will pay you the amount of that dependent's life insurance shown in the
Schedule. If you are not living or are disqualified by operation of law, we will pay the deceased
dependent's estate. We will pay it in 1 sum when we receive all the required proof of covered loss,
including written proof of death, acceptable to us, and a completed claim form. The amount of insurance
may be reduced by the amount of any conversion policy and any group portability policy issued by us.

For any contributory insurance, if a covered dependent takes his or her own life within 1 year after
becoming insured under the policy, the amount of insurance we pay will be the sum of your contributions
for this insurance.

For any contributory insurance, if a covered dependent takes his or her own life within 1 year after you
elect an increase in the amount of dependent insurance under the policy, the amount of the increase will
be limited to the sum of your contributions for the increase.

Changes in Amounts of Insurance

Any change in a covered dependent's amount of insurance will take place on the Dependent Change
Date shown in the Schedule. But in the case of an increase, if the eligible dependent is in a hospital or
similar facility on that day, no increase will take effect until the day after the eligible dependent leaves the
hospital or similar facility. If an eligible dependent spouse is disabled on the date of an increase, it will not
take effect until the spouse is no longer disabled.

Proof of Good Health

If a covered dependent is eligible for more than the Dependent Maximum Amount Without Proof of Good
Health shown in the Schedule, the dependent will be limited to that Maximum until the dependent gives
us proof of good health. Once insured for more than that Maximum, future increases will also require
proof of good health.

Disability Benefit

Any time your life insurance is continued under the Disability Benefit, your dependent /ife insurance will
also continue. No premium is due when no premium is due for /ife insurance.

Conversion to an Individual Policy

If any or all of a dependent’s life insurance ends, you or your dependent can apply for an individual policy
issued by us (conversion policy). You or your dependent must apply on a form acceptable to us and pay
the premium within 31 days. The individual policy may be any we offer for conversion. No proof of good
health is required.

You or your dependent may convert up to the full amount that ended.

Neither you nor your dependent can apply for a conversion policy if your dependent’s group life insurance
or insurance under a group portability policy ends because you did not pay your share of the dependent’s
premium.

If your dependent dies within 31 days after dependent /ife insurance ends, we will pay you the amount
that could have been converted, whether or not an application was made or any premium was paid for the
conversion policy.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS (continued)

Porting to a Group Portability Policy

If you die while a covered person under the policy, your covered dependents may be eligible to port their
total amount of any dependent /ife insurance coverage currently in force.

A covered dependent is not eligible to port if:

o the dependent converts his or her dependent /ife insurance under Conversion to an
Individual Policy;

. the policy ends; or
° the covered dependent spouse is age 65 or older.

If your dependent dies within 31 days after dependent /ife insurance ends, but before he or she has
applied to port, we will pay to the dependent's beneficiary the amount that could have been converted
under the Conversion to an Individual Policy, whether or not an application was made or any premium
was paid.

Your dependent must apply and pay the premium within 31 days after your death. No proof of good
health is required.

The dependent should name a beneficiary under the same terms and conditions that apply to the covered
person, as set forth in the ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS FOR LIFE INSURANCE.

The insurance can be continued under the group portability policy until the earlier of the day before the
surviving spouse’s 65" birthday or the date the surviving spouse dies. If there is no covered dependent
spouse when you die, the insurance can be continued under the group portability policy until there are no
eligible dependent children. The amount(s) cannot be increased. A dependent can decrease his or her
amount of insurance to any muitiple of $1,000. A dependent child's amount of insurance may not exceed
a surviving spouse's amount of insurance.

We will notify the dependent of the amount of premium due, the frequency of premium payments and the
premium due dates. If any premium is not paid when due, the dependent will have a 31-day grace
period. Insurance will end at the end of the grace period if the dependent fails to make the required
premium payment within that time. We will not change the premium rate more than once in any period of
6 consecutive months and we will give the dependent 31 days advance written notice of any change in
rates.

The Conversion to an Individual Policy provision will apply if the dependent'’s insurance ends under the
group portability policy.

Assignment

You cannot assign dependent life insurance.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS (continued)

Incontestability

The validity of the Dependent Life Insurance provisions of the policy cannot be contested after they have
been in force for 2 years. The validity of the insurance on any dependent cannot be contested after the
dependent has been insured under the policy for 2 years during that dependent's lifetime. However, if the
premiums are not paid, the validity of the Dependent Life Insurance provisions or of any dependent's
insurance can be contested at any time.

No statement you or a dependent made regarding a dependent's proof of good health can be used in a
legal dispute unless it was in writing, it was signed by you or your dependent, and a copy was given to
you or your dependent.

DEPENDENT ACCELERATED BENEFIT

If, while your spouse is a covered dependent, he or she has a qualifying medical condition, you have the
right to receive a portion of your dependent life insurance during your lifetime, payable as a dependent
accelerated benefit. You must have at least $10,000 of dependent Jife insurance in force on your spouse
to be eligible to receive a dependent accelerated benefit.

RECEIPT OF A DEPENDENT ACCELERATED BENEFIT MAY AFFECT ELIGIBILITY FOR A STATE OR
FEDERAL PROGRAM, SUCH AS MEDICAID, AND BENEFITS MAY BE TAXABLE. A TAX ADVISOR
SHOULD BE CONSULTED.

We are not responsible for any effect on your state or federal taxes, or loss of eligibility for any state or
federal program.

Amount of Dependent Accelerated Benefit

You may receive a dependent accelerated benefit of your spouse's dependent /ife insurance, as shown in
the Schedule.

If the amount of your dependent life insurance for your spouse increased within 12 months before the
date you apply for the dependent accelerated benefit, your dependent accelerated benefit will be based

on the lesser amount.

If the amount of your dependent life insurance for your spouse is scheduled to reduce within 12 months
following the date you apply for the dependent accelerated benefit, your dependent accelerated benefit
will be based on the reduced amount.

A dependent accelerated benefit may be paid only once during the lifetime of your spouse. You may

choose to receive a dependent accelerated benefit in a single sum, or in one of the optional payment
methods currently avaitable at the time of your election. If you are not living when benefits are payable,

they will be paid to your estate.

Once a dependent accelerated benefit is paid to you, we will notify you of the remaining dependent /ife
insurance in force for your spouse.

Proof Required for the Dependent Accelerated Benefit

You must submit a claim form and any other information we find necessary to decide our liability.

We may ask your spouse to be examined in connection with the claim for a dependent accelerated
benefit. We will pay for any exam we require.
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LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOUR DEPENDENTS (continued)

Effect of Dependent Accelerated Benefit

After a dependent accelerated benefit is paid, premium is due only for the remaining dependent Jife
insurance for your spouse. The dependent /ife insurance payable to you at your spouse's death equals:

. the amount of your dependent /ife insurance as if a dependent accelerated benefit
payment has not been made, minus

° the dependent accelerated benefit payment, minus

. the interest charge.

The interest charge equals the dependent accelerated benefit amount times the number of days from the
dependent accelerated benefit payment to your spouse's date of death, times an annual interest rate
divided by 365. The rate of interest is determined quarterly by us.

Your amount of dependent accidental death and dismemberment insurance, if any, is not affected by the
payment of the dependent accelerated benefit. The amount of any conversion policy or group portability
policy will be based on your reduced amount of dependent life insurance after the payment of the
dependent accelerated benefit.

Exclusions

A dependent accelerated benefit will not be paid if:

o you have previously received a dependent accelerated benefit of your dependent life
insurance.

° your dependent life insurance for your spouse is less than $10,000.

° all of your spouse’s dependent /ife insurance will end within 31 days from the date you

apply for a dependent accelerated benefit.
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CLAIM PROVISIONS

Payment of Benefits

We will pay benefits when we receive all the required proof of covered loss.

To Whom Payable

We will pay your life insurance benefits according to the Beneficiary provision. For any other benefits we
will follow the provisions applicable to such benefits, if any. Otherwise, all other benefits will be paid to
you, if you are living. If not, we will pay your estate.

If no beneficiary is living at your death, we may pay part of your life insurance to any person we decide is
entitled to it because of expenses incurred during your last illness or for your funeral.

Any amount we pay in good faith releases us from further liability for that amount.

Filing a Life Disability Benefit Claim

Within 30 days of the start of your disability, you should give us proof that you are currently disabled and
have been continuously disabled since your last day of active work. Proof must be given within 90 days
after the end of your qualifying period. If it is not reasonably possible to give proof on time, it must be
given no later than 1 year after the time proof is otherwise required, except in the absence of legal
capacity.

Continuing proof of disability must be given as often as we may reasonably require. Continuing proof
must be given within 60 days of our request.

You must furnish whatever items we decide are necessary as proof of disabifity. You must agree to be
examined by a doctor we choose, as often as needed to decide the existence or extent of disability. We
will pay for any exam we require. If, within a reasonable time, you do not furnish any required items or do
not have any required exam, your coverage will end.

Authority

We have the sole discretionary authority to determine eligibility for participation or benefits and to interpret
the terms of the policy. All determinations and interpretations made by us are conclusive and binding on
all parties.

Review Procedure

You must request, in writing, a review of a denial of your claim within 60 days (180 days for Life Disability
Benefit) after you receive notice of denial.

You have the right to review, upon request and free of charge, copies of all documents, records, and
other information relevant to your claim for benefits, and you may submit written comments, documents,
records and other information relating to your claim for benefits.

We will review your claim after receiving your request and send you a notice of our decision within 60
days (45 days for Life Disability Benefit) after we receive your request, or within 120 days (90 days for
Life Disability Benefit) if special circumstances require an extension. We will state the reasons for our
decision and refer you to the relevant provisions of the poficy. We will also advise you of your further
appeal rights, if any.
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GENERAL PROVISIONS

Entire Contract

The policy and the policyholder's application attached to it are the entire contract. Any statement made
by you or the policyholder is considered a representation. It is not considered a warranty or guarantee. A
statement will not be used in a dispute unless it is written and signed, and a copy is given to you or your
beneficiary.

Errors

An error in keeping records will not cancel insurance that should continue nor continue insurance that
should end. We will adjust the premium, if necessary, but not beyond 3 years before the date the error
was found. [f the premium was overpaid, we will refund the difference. If the premium was underpaid,

the difference must be paid to us.

Misstatements

If any information about a person is misstated, the facts will determine whether insurance is in effect and
in what amount. We will equitably adjust the premium.

Individual Certificates

We will send certificates to the policyholder to give to each covered person. The certificate will state the
insurance to which the person is entitled. It does not change the provisions of the policy.

Workers' Compensation

The policy is not in place of, and does not affect any state's requirements for coverage by Workers'
Compensation insurance.

Agency

Neither the policyholder, any employer, any associated company, nor any administrator appointed by the
foregoing is our agent. We are not liable for any of their acts or omissions.
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GENERAL PROVISIONS (continued)

Changing the Policy

The policyholder owns the policy. The policy may be changed at any time by an endorsement or
amendment agreed upon by the policyholder and us. A change must be approved by one of our
executive officers. No agent can change the policy or waive any of its provisions.

Required Data

The policyholder must give us all data needed to administer the insurance and determine premiums. The
policyholder must also give us any other information we require. We may inspect the policyholder's
records relating to the insurance provided by the policy.

Policyholder's Assignment

The policyholder may assign the policy. This will not affect the rights of any covered person or
beneficiary. We will not be responsible for the validity of any assignment. We must receive written notice
of an assignment at our home office.

When the Policy Ends

The policy will end on the earliest of the following dates:

o the date the grace period ends, if the premium has not been paid; or
o the date we cancel the policy, after giving the policyholder 31 days written notice; or
o the date we receive written notice from the policyholder, or the date shown in the notice,

whichever is later.

The policy will also end if the number or percentage of persons covered under the policy does not meet
the Minimum Participation Requirements shown in the Schedule.

If the Participation Requirements are not met, we will notify the policyholder 31 days in advance that
insurance will end. We consider that notice is given when delivered or mailed to the last known address
of the policyholder.

If the date the policy ends is not the same as the date to which premiums have been paid, the difference
in premium:

° must be paid to us, if underpaid; or

° will be refunded by us, if overpaid.
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PREMIUMS

Premium Payments

The policyholder must pay all premiums in advance at our home office or to one of our agents. The
policyholder may request on any policy anniversary that the frequency of premium payment be changed
to any frequency we offer for such policy.

Grace Period

If any premium is not paid when due, the policy will be in default on that date. The policyholder has a
grace period of 31 days after that date to pay the premium. In any case, the policyholder must pay the
premium for coverage in force during the grace period.

Calculation of Premiums

The first premium is due on the effective date. Future premiums are due on each premium due date.
The premium is based on the premium rate and the amount of insurance. We will furnish premium rates
to the policyholder with an explanation of how to apply them.

Our Right to Change Premium Rates

We may change the premium rate:
. after the third policy anniversary; or
. when our liability changes.
Unless our liability changes:
o we will not change the rates more than once in any period of 12 consecutive months; and

. we will give the policyholder 60 days advance written notice of an increase in rates.
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ENDORSEMENTS AND AMENDMENTS
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to

by

for group policy no.

by

Signed at

Witness

APPLICATION

Union Security Insurance Company
City of Gulfport

G 5474381

This application is executed in duplicate. One copy is to be attached to the policy.

The other is to be returned to Union Security Insurance Company.

It is agreed that this Application replaces any prior application for the policy.

10 or more lives must be insured on the Effective Date of the policy. In addition
the number of lives to be insured on that date must be 20% of those eligible for

insurance at that time.

City of Gulfport

3

(Full or Corporate Name of Applicant)

(Signature and Title)

Date

(To be signed by Resident Agent where required by law)

This copy is to remain attached to the policy.

Union Security Insurance Company 2323 Grand Boulevard Kansas City Missouri 64108-2670

GPA-80
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APPLICATION

to Union Security Insurance Company
by City of Guifport
for group policy no. G 5474381

This application is executed in duplicate. One copy is to be attached to the policy.
The other is to be returned to Union Security Insurance Company.

It is agreed that this Application repiaces any prior application for the policy.
10 or more lives must be insured on the Effective Date of the policy. In addition,
the number of lives to be insured on that date must be 20% of those eligible for

insurance at that time.

City of Gulfport

(Full or Corporate Name of Applicant)

by

(Signature and Title)

Signed at Date

Witness

(To be signed by Resident Agent where required by law)
This copy is to be returned to the home office.

Union Security Insurance Company 2323 Grand Boulevard Kansas City Missouri 64108-2670
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